Mad Men Dress Pattern

Lately I have been working on drafting my pattern for my Man Men dress. The local shop that I get my fabric from doesn’t have sewing patterns for sale.  So my patterns are made by me. Usually I just google things and piece it together from what I can find. Or find a tutorial online. I have been having a lot of trouble finding a tutorial for a sheath dress. I finally found a pattern here.

It lets you print the pattern which would be ideal if I had a printer… Since I don’t I have drawn it out by hand – just free hand, no measurements yet. I will figure that part out later. I also picked up some white broadcloth to try the pattern out on before I use the fabric that I ordered online.

A couple of changes. Mine will be boat neck, and will not have a belt, also the back will be more like the one in the pictures on my first Mad Men Challenge post.

Here is what I have so far, my drawing abilities peaked at stick people so apologies for the quality of the drawing…

photo

It’s a bit hard to see since its small and I was using a pencil but if you click on the picture it should get bigger.

Next week I am going to start measuring and cutting out the pieces on the broadcloth. Tonight I might work on my Dopp Kit, but more on that later.

What do you prefer, tutorials or patterns? Would you rather print off a pattern or buy one in a store? Or do you like to make your own? How about tracing clothes you already have?

Leave a Reply

