Polka dot dress

So my latest project has been working on a polka dot dress, I didn’t even plan to make one I just saw the fabric and got the inspiration. I looked on Pinterest and on some other blogs and my idea for the pattern came from http://www.oneaviandaemon.com where she shows you how to make her picnic dress. What I am attempting to make is not quite the same but similar, the other day I cut out the pieces and this is what it might look like.

Polka dot dress

apologies for the quality of the picture, I took it with my phone.

So far I have made a circle skirt for the bottom and meaused out and cut the sash. The tricky part is the top of the dress, I have been trying to make it with darts since the fabric isn’t stretchy and I need a bit more room than some… so far I have made two tops and both are residing in my scrap bag (along with the pajama pants from before.) Now I am back to the computer to see if I can find an easy tutorial to help me make the top… we will see what happens…

2 thoughts on “Polka dot dress

  1. Katie Elliott says:

    Hi there! Loving your blog, my name is Katie Elliott I am the creator of Tag a Trend.co.uk (www.tagatrend.co.uk) The website works like this: each week I announce a new fashion trend, and people then tag themselves on Facebook wearing that trend. This is done by tagging their picture with the Tag a Trend Facebook page.
    The other option is to directly add your pics to the facebook wall at http://www.facebook.com/TagATrend or to email pics to kte20@hotmail.com. The best pics then appear on my site.
    This week’s trend (as of tomorrow) is ‘Spots VS Stripes’ and as I can see you are loving the trend, I thought you might be interested in getting involved and tagging yourself in this fab print. The picture will appear on both my site and Facebook (both with a direct link back to your blog.)
    Look forward to hearing from you!
    Katie

Leave a Reply

